Questions

The best auto clicker for Mac, compared

Download on the Mac App StoreInputConfig is completely free on the Mac App Store. You don't have to make an account, there are no subscriptions, and nothing is locked. Optimized for Apple silicon.

The best auto clicker for a Mac depends on how you want to start it and what you need it to do, because every app here can click on a timer. For a free App Store app that starts from a controller, a MIDI pad or any key, with per-row settings, that is InputConfig, which I make, so weigh my view with that in mind. For timed key sequences and typed text in a free App Store app, KeyAutoClicker. For one small paid app that does one job, RapidClick. Where a maker's page does not say, the table says so.

Checked October 2026. Every fact about another app comes from the maker's own page, last read on October 3, 2026, and the date changes here when I read them again.

On this page
  1. Compare them at a glance
  2. See which one is safest to install
  3. See which one clicks fastest
  4. Pick the one that fits the job
  5. Where InputConfig is different
  6. Where another app fits better
  7. Check any of them before you install
  8. How I checked
  9. The short version
  10. Questions

Compare them at a glance

Where each one comes from and what it costs. Prices change, so check the store before you buy.

AppWhere you get itPriceSource
InputConfigMac App StoreFree, no paid featuresOpen, MIT, on GitHub
KeyAutoClickerMac App StoreFreeOn GitHub, CC BY-NC 4.0
RapidClickMac App Store$2.99, one timeNot stated
Autoclick (inket)Maker's own siteFreeOpen, GPL-2.0, archived
macOS Auto Clicker (othyn)GitHub releasesFreeOpen, MIT
MaClickerGitHub releasesFreeOpen, MIT
IO Auto ClickerMac App Store, per its site3-day trial, then a subscription or lifetime purchaseNot stated
DwellBuilt into macOSFreeApple

What each one can do, as its maker describes it. Not stated means the maker's page does not say, not that the app cannot.

AppStart and stopFixed pointRandom gapClick count
InputConfigAny key, mouse button, controller button or MIDI padYesYesYes
KeyAutoClickerGlobal hotkeys, and a Stop All hotkeyNot statedYesYes
RapidClickA hotkeyNot statedNot statedNot stated
Autoclick (inket)A hotkey with a modifier. The fn key stops itNot statedNot statedNot stated
macOS Auto Clicker (othyn)Global keyboard shortcutsNot statedNot statedYes
MaClickerAn activation key, in Toggle, Hold or Lock modeNot statedNot statedYes
IO Auto ClickerF6 by defaultYesYesYes
DwellResting the pointerNo, one click per restNoNo

And what each one needs:

AppmacOS neededWorth knowing
InputConfig14 or laterAlso auto presses keys. One click per poll, up to 200 a second
KeyAutoClicker14.6 or laterClicks, key presses, timed key sequences and typed text
RapidClick10.12.6 or laterLeft or right click, 1 an hour to 50 a second, floats above full-screen games
Autoclick (inket)10.14 or laterLast version 2.0.5, January 2022, and no longer developed, and it asks for Input Monitoring too
macOS Auto Clicker (othyn)13 or later (11 for an older build)Any mouse or keyboard button, presses per interval, a delayed start, with its latest release in July 2025
MaClicker10.13 or laterLeft or right click, up to 100 a second, Lock mode holds the button, and the latest release was in September 2024
IO Auto Clicker12 or laterRecord and playback of clicks

Automator, which still ships with macOS, can record clicks with Watch Me Do. I have not tested it for auto clicking, so it is not in the tables.

See which one is safest to install

Safe is partly the app and partly where it comes from, so this table puts the facts side by side. I have not audited the code of any of these apps, mine included. Open source means anyone can read it, which helps, and it is not a guarantee.

AppSource you can readWhere you get itLatest release statedPermission it asks for
InputConfigYes, MITMac App Store1.8, October 22, 2026Accessibility
KeyAutoClickerYes, CC BY-NC 4.0, a non-commercial licenseMac App StoreNot statedAccessibility
RapidClickNot statedMac App StoreNot statedAccessibility
Autoclick (inket)Yes, GPL-2.0, archivedMaker's own site2.0.5, January 2022Accessibility and Input Monitoring
macOS Auto Clicker (othyn)Yes, MITGitHub releasesJuly 2025Accessibility
MaClickerYes, MITGitHub releasesSeptember 2024Accessibility
IO Auto ClickerNot statedMac App Store, per its siteNot statedAccessibility
DwellAppleBuilt into macOSPart of macOSNone to install

I would weigh them in this order: where the app comes from, whether you can read its source, and how recently it was updated. An app from the store that reviews it, with source you can read and a recent release, leaves the fewest unknowns.

See which one clicks fastest

These rates come from each maker's own page. A bigger number is not a better auto clicker, because most apps and games do not count clicks past a few dozen a second.

AppFastest rate statedWhat limits it
InputConfig200 clicks a secondOne click per poll, so 120 a second on a power adapter and 60 on battery by default
Autoclick (inket)Up to 900 a secondIts readme lists it. The app is no longer developed
MaClickerUp to 100 a secondLeft or right click
RapidClickUp to 50 a secondIts slowest setting is 1 an hour
KeyAutoClicker, macOS Auto Clicker, IO Auto ClickerNot statedThe makers' pages give no top rate

The auto clicker CPS page explains the polling rate, and the CPS to ms calculator converts any rate to a gap.

Pick the one that fits the job

  • Click without pressing at all. Dwell, in the Mac's own Accessibility settings. It clicks once each time the pointer rests, not on a timer.
  • One paid app that does one thing. RapidClick. Its maker keeps it to that one job on purpose.
  • Timed key sequences and typed text. KeyAutoClicker, free on the App Store.
  • Open source you can build yourself. macOS Auto Clicker or MaClicker, both MIT, or InputConfig, also MIT.
  • A recorded run of clicks at several spots. IO Auto Clicker lists record and playback. InputConfig has no recorded sequence.
  • A controller, a MIDI pad or a mouse button as the trigger. InputConfig. It was the only Mac auto clicker I found that starts from a controller.
  • An older Mac. RapidClick or MaClicker. InputConfig needs macOS 14.

Pick by the trigger and the stop you need, because every one of them can click on a timer.

Where InputConfig is different

This is my app, so here is what it does that the tables cannot show, and nothing more:

  • A built-in preset. Auto Clicker, in the Desktop & Productivity folder: the right trigger toggles left clicks 10 a second, the left trigger right clicks 5 a second, the right bumper clicks 20 a second while held, Y clicks 100 times and stops, and X clicks every 150 ms, give or take 40. With no controller, fn F6 and fn F7 start and stop, and mouse button 4 clicks while held.
  • A buzz. On pads that vibrate, a toggled row buzzes when a run starts.
  • Per-app switching. A preset can run only while one app is in front, so leaving the game ends the run.
  • One stop for everything. The emergency stop: Control Option Command period, Back and Start held for three seconds on a controller, or Emergency Stop in the menu bar.
  • Single clicks. Every click in a run goes out as its own single click, so a fast run never turns into the double clicks that open files.
  • An honest top speed. At most one click per poll: 120 a second on a power adapter and 60 on battery by default, and 200 a second at most. Most apps and games do not count clicks that fast anyway.
The Auto Clicker preset selected in the Desktop and Productivity folder of the InputConfig sidebar, with the Activate button on its page.
Figure 1. The built-in Auto Clicker preset, in the Desktop and Productivity folder. Activate it, and fn F6 starts and stops the clicking.

Where another app fits better

  • Several spots in turn. InputConfig clicks one spot per row, and its macro steps cannot move the pointer to a point. An app with record and playback suits that job.
  • Clicks faster than 200 a second. Autoclick's readme lists up to 900. I doubt many apps count that, but if you need it, InputConfig will not go there.
  • Older macOS. InputConfig needs macOS 14 or later.
  • The simplest possible window. InputConfig does much more than auto click, so it has more to look at. A single-purpose app has less to learn.

Check any of them before you install

Climb this ladder from the safest source down:

  1. The Mac App Store. Reviewed by Apple and sandboxed.
  2. The maker's own page or GitHub. Check the name of the maker and the date of the last release.
  3. Never a download portal or a cracked-software site. Get the app from where its maker publishes it.

Every one of them needs the Accessibility permission to click, and you grant it in System Settings, Privacy & Security, Accessibility. More on that, and on game rules, is in whether an auto clicker is safe on a Mac.

How I checked

  • Dates. Every fact about another app is from its maker's own page, its App Store listing or its GitHub readme, read on October 3, 2026.
  • Testing. I tested InputConfig. I have not tested the other apps myself.
  • Corrections. If a maker's page changes, the maker's page is right and this table is out of date.

The short version

  • No press. Use Dwell.
  • Free, App Store, controller or MIDI trigger. Use InputConfig.
  • Key sequences and text. Use KeyAutoClicker.
  • One paid job, older Macs. Use RapidClick.

Whichever you choose, get it from where its maker publishes it, and learn its stop first. If you came looking for a Windows favorite, see OP Auto Clicker on a Mac.

To try InputConfig's version, the Auto Clicker preset page lists every row, and the auto clicker guide goes from install to a tuned run.

Questions

What is the best free auto clicker for Mac?

It depends on the job. InputConfig is free on the Mac App Store with no paid features and starts from a key, a mouse button or a controller. KeyAutoClicker is free there too and adds key sequences and typed text.

Is there an open-source auto clicker for Mac?

Yes. InputConfig, macOS Auto Clicker and MaClicker are open source under the MIT license, and Autoclick under GPL-2.0, though it is no longer developed.

Which Mac auto clicker is the fastest?

Autoclick's readme lists up to 900 clicks a second and MaClicker up to 100. InputConfig sends at most one click per poll, up to 200 a second. Most apps and games do not count clicks that fast.

Does macOS have a built-in auto clicker?

Not one on a timer. Dwell, in the Mac's Accessibility settings, clicks once each time the pointer rests in one place.

Can a Mac auto clicker start from a game controller?

InputConfig can: its built-in Auto Clicker preset starts and stops clicking from a controller's right trigger. It was the only Mac auto clicker I found that does.

What is the safest auto clicker for Mac?

Weigh where it comes from, whether you can read its source, and when it last had a release. A Mac App Store app with public source is the strongest mix in the table, which is InputConfig and KeyAutoClicker, though KeyAutoClicker's license bars commercial use. I make InputConfig, and I have not audited the others.

This page in other languages: Italiano, 日本語, Русский

Download on the Mac App StoreOpen source on GitHub.

Updated